Expedition 64 crew members return from Worldwide House Station

After 185 days aboard the Worldwide House Station, two Russian cosmonauts and a NASA astronaut returned to Earth early Saturday morning. 

NASA’s Kate Rubins and Roscosmos’ Sergey Ryzhikov and Sergey Kud-Sverchkov landed in the steppes of Kazakhstan at 12:55 a.m. EDT after departing the station within the Soyuz MS-17 spacecraft at 9:34 p.m. EDT.


In a weblog publish on Saturday, NASA reported that, pending medical checks,  the crew would cut up up. 

Rubins — the primary individual to sequence DNA in area — will return dwelling to Houston, Texas and Ryzhikov and Kud-Sverchkov will fly again to their coaching base in Star Metropolis, Russia.

The Soyuz MS-17 spacecraft is seen because it lands in a distant space close to the city of Zhezkazgan, Kazakhstan with Expedition 64 crew members Kate Rubins of NASA, Sergey Ryzhikov and Sergey Kud-Sverchkov of Roscosmos, Saturday, April 17, 2021. Rubins, Ryzhikov and Kud-Sverchkov returned after 185 days in area having served as Expedition 63-64 crew members onboard the Worldwide House Station. Picture Credit score: NASA/Invoice Ingalls

Roscosmos head Dmitry Rogozin stated all three have been feeling nicely after they have been extracted from the capsule, in line with The Related Press.

The Expedition 64 trio had arrived on the station on Oct. 14, 2020, and served as flight engineers.

Throughout their tenure, the group performed a whole lot of scientific experiments, oversaw the arrival and departure of a number of automobiles and performed spacewalks.

Whereas the journey was Ryzhikov’s and Rubins’ second spaceflight, it was Kud-Sverchkov’s first.

Based on House.com, they traveled a complete of 78.4 million miles, finishing 2,960 orbits of Earth.

NASA famous that the seven-person crew of Expedition 65 stays aboard the station, together with Roscosmos’ Oleg Novitskiy and Pyotr Dubrov, Japan Aerospace Exploration Company astronaut Soichi Noguchi, NASA astronauts Victor Glover, Michael Hopkins, Mark Vande Hei and new station commander Shannon Walker. 

Vande Hei, Novitskiy and Dubrov arrived on April 9 and Hopkins, Glover, Walker and Noguchi got here aboard in November on the SpaceX Crew Dragon “Resilience.”

The three-member Expedition 64 crew from JAXA (Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency). From left are, Kate Rubins of NASA,Sergey Ryzhikov of Roscosmos and Sergey Kud-Sverchkov of Roscosmos.

The three-member Expedition 64 crew from JAXA (Japan Aerospace Exploration Company). From left are, Kate Rubins of NASA,Sergey Ryzhikov of Roscosmos and Sergey Kud-Sverchkov of Roscosmos.

The November flight marked the primary area station docking beneath NASA’s Industrial Crew Program.

Later this month, NASA’s SpaceX Crew-2 members — together with NASA astronauts Shane Kimbrough and Megan McArthur, Japanese astronaut Akihiko Hoshide, and European House Company astronaut Thomas Pesquet — will be a part of the Expedition 65 members on the station.


Their launch on the SpaceX Crew Dragon “Endeavour” is slated for April 22.

Walker will then hand over command to Hoshide earlier than she, Hopkins, Glover and Noguchi depart for Earth on April 29.

In November 2020, the station surpassed a 20-year milestone of steady human presence. So far, 243 individuals from 19 nations have visited the orbiting laboratory.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *